Planning for Change.

Always remember that today is a new beginning. If you've had difficulty staying on track, perhaps a guided plan such as our Total Body Transformation Program will help!

Not long after I got into this job I started searching for something else. I knew this was sort of a safe haven after leaving my last job, but I knew it wasn’t where I would be for long. Mainly because it’s low paying and there isn’t any room for growth. It’s a decent working environment with fun people. But a long term stay has never been on the itinerary.

I’ve set out on the job hunt again. I’ve been fortunate enough to score a handful of interviews and even one second interview (for a job that turned out to not fit what I was looking for). I’m also fairly picky about the jobs to which I apply since I’m not trying to jump to another dead end job over and over again. I desperately want to break this cycle.

There has been so much soul searching over the last few months. I had set myself on a really good path at the beginning of the year which then took a sharp turn far off course. I’ve faced a lot of struggling but ultimately found my way back. Finally I feel ready to get back on my path after a long and sometimes torturous detour.

I was listening to a podcast today about careers and becoming an entrepreneur, and something was said that made me have a real “Aha!” moment. The woman was talking about going from one unfulfilling job to another, in search of something that might be better and might wind up sticking. But when you know in your heart of hearts you’re putting your energy into things other than your passion, it’s time to reevaluate. It’s time to get off the wheel and do something different.

As much as I want to find another stable job (I do still need an income), I have to face my truth. Nothing is really going to satisfy and fill me up as much as finally kicking off my own business. I dream about it day and night. I get excited when I come up with business ideas or I start talking with people in a way that would relate to what I want to do. What is the point in starting over time and again? Why not actually get started on building my own business?

I decided to put together a To-Do list to help me put thought into action and start making changes. This list can apply to make different scenarios so wherever you are in your life, if you’re craving change, I hope this serves some inspiration:

1. Stop saying “I’m going to…” and start saying “I am doing…”
Instead of talking about what you want to do or plan to do, put it into action words. This reinforces the idea in your mind. It allows you to say it with more confidence and hold you to doing what it is you say you’re going to do. Don’t simply say “I want to run a marathon” or “I want to backpack across Europe.” Make a plan and jump into action. In other words: talk the talk and walk the walk.

2. Make a To-Do List
What steps do you need to take to fulfill your goal? Write them out. Start simple, and as you go along begin to branch out and get more detailed. What matters most is you identify what you can do right now, right this moment, to get started.

3. Ask for Help and Support
Depending upon your goal(s), you may need some help along the way. Maybe you have kids and need a sitter while you train or write. Maybe your friends want you to go out when you need to create time and space to knock off something from your to-do list. It’s perfectly ok to ask for help. And beyond that, it is very important to ask for support. Share your ideas with friends and family. Let them in on this journey. Having people to lift you up, help you to stay positive during trying times, and to bounce ideas off of is crucial when making any changes or working toward any goal. You don’t get what you don’t ask for. So go ahead and make your needs known.

4. Plan for Bumps in the Road
Nothing worth having comes easy. No road to success is without obstacles. So plan ahead. Identify some potential snags you may encounter. What course of action can you take to ensure you don’t get derailed completely? Write it all down. Come up with daily positive reinforcements which can help to soften the blow if/when something negative happens.

5. Get Started
You know the saying, it doesn’t matter how slow you go as long as you don’t stop. So get started! Every little action you take will get you closer to the end result (or farther down the path as I like to think). Getting started is the hardest part. Always keep in mind why you are doing what you are doing. Allow that to be your driving force.

6. Celebrate Little Victories
Always pat yourself on the back for a job well done. No matter how big or small your victory is along the way, recognize it! You’re progressing. You’re learning. You’re growing. And you are kicking ass along the way. Be proud of yourself! Taking stock of all the little milestones will continue to fuel your momentum and propel you further.

7. Keep Going!
Eventually you are going to reach or achieve your goal, or this path is going to lead you toward another goal or opportunity. Ride the wave. Don’t stop once you’ve reached what you thought was your final destination. Build upon it. How can you take this one step further? How can you continue to grow? Never stop learning and never stop doing. Keep your eyes forward and keep going!

What are some ideas you’ve had for your future?
What’s holding you back from starting?
I would love to hear your ideas!

Leave a Reply

