You Don’t Know Until You Try!

Oh, I have a little case of the Monday blues. I won’t even lie. But the weekend was pretty awesome, even if I did have to work both days.

I’m linking up for Healthy Diva Life‘s Marvelous in My Monday to recap why my weekend rocked!

image

I decided to try something new this weekend, and I have fallen in love!

While at work (at the gym) on Saturday, I decided I would get in a little workout since the place had cleared an hour before closing time. I was in the weight area focusing on my arms when I was trying to figure out how I could sneak in some cardio.

The treadmill and elliptical were out of the question since I can’t see the desk from the cardio room. I figured I’d improvise.

I found some jump ropes hanging up so I pulled one down and got started. Until something in the back of the room caught my eye…

I have wanted to try kickboxing for years. I looked into an all girl MMA place in town at least four dozen times, but I’ve never bit the bullet. Admittedly I get nervous about trying new types of fitness. I worry I can’t do it for all sorts of reasons: I’m not strong enough, I have asthma, I have sciatic problems, I’ll look silly, and so on and so forth.

Since I was alone I figured I had nothing to lose and no one to look ridiculous in front of (in case my punches didn’t throw so well). I strapped on some gloves and went to town.

And it felt AMAZING!!!!

It was far more than getting out any aggression or doing it simply as a form of fitness. It made me feel strong. It made me feel capable. It made me feel confident! I kept going back for more.

Having only hit the bag once, and doing some light reading about kickboxing, I have to say I am already all-in on wanting to learn more. I want to learn how to hit, how to hold my arms, how to stand. I want to learn about how it affects your entire body and how it can help build your mind. I think I may have finally found something I could be pretty decent at.

Fortunately my gym offers a cardio kickboxing class at a convenient time during the week so I am already impatiently waiting for Wednesday night. I’m not one for taking classes, as I prefer tried and true good ol’ fashion weightlifting, but I am super excited to finally have the nerve and the drive to try this.

This is something I hope to inspire in others. You never know how much you are missing out until you finally give something a try. I have always been quite the introvert and not much of a joiner. I don’t like crowds and the potential to look silly in front of others. As I get older, though, I can see that no is really watching. And those who are, the ones who may have negative comments or snide remarks, aren’t enough to deter from the experience of trying.

Always try.

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Know Until You Try!

  1. This is a great post. I have learned so much about myself and fallen in love with things when I try something new. I enjoy the warm-up parts of cardio kickboxing, but I totally get bruises when I hit the bag.

    • Thank you! I am such a creature of habit so I have to push myself out of my comfort zone in order to try new things. But when I do it is always a positive experience and I have so much fun. That’s why I am diving into this headfirst so I don’t miss out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

