Hooray Monday!

Back on the grind today, but not without a recap and appreciation for the wonderful weekend I had.

Like every Monday, I am linking up with Katie over at Healthy Diva Life for another Marvelous In My Monday.

I have to really show appreciation for Katie. I have been following her blog for several years. I look forward to not only seeing the little tidbits about her life but also reading the honesty she shares about her highs and lows. She has been a great inspiration. Following her for all these years has proven to be fruitful as I have joined her Healthy Divas Beach Body team. I can’t wait to get started and see what opportunities this path brings me!

Now onto my goody goodness!

I was super excited to come home and find my Beach Body welcome booklet waiting for me on Friday. I am very much looking forward to coaching people to be their best and crush their limitations.

My own workouts have consistently grown over the past two months. Each week I am increasing the number on the weights and my stamina. To say I am proud of myself would be an understatement.

Although the scale refuses to budge (maybe it’s broken???), my progress does not. And I am completely focusing on that. Being stronger and building muscle are my main goals. Dropping pounds would be a welcome byproduct but I’ve learned not to place all my efforts on moving the scale.

I crushed my Sunday morning workout, and I left the gym dripping sweat with sore muscles and the most pep in my step. Then after breakfast I finally made my move back into running.

It’s been quite a while, and I’ve been weary about doing it because of the somewhat consistent annoyance of sciatica. It was a blazing hot day but the motivation was there. So I did it.

That bottom left photo is of me reaching the end of the boardwalk, a spot I hadn’t seen in quite a long time. If there hadn’t been a bunch of people around I would have jumped up and fist pumped. I had the biggest smile on my face!!!

You see, running on that boardwalk brings up a lot of bad memories. I used to run (and weight lift) to punish myself. If I had eaten, I had to negate the calories. If I was hungry, I had to negate the stomach growls. If I was upset, I had to push myself until it hurt.

I even had a nasty fall at the height of my anorexia because I couldn’t feel my left foot. I limped back to my car wondering if I would ever run again.

And I have. Being outdoors is my happy place. But there was still a part of me that feared running and lifting would be triggers and throw me into relapse.

It’s taken a lot of effort, a lot of trial and error, to break away from that mindset. Learning to view these activities as both fun and ways in which to take care of my body and mind has not been easy. I’m just happy I finally made it to this point!

I have fallen in love with weight lifting all over again. And being able to run as far as I did today – and not pushing myself to go harder, faster, or farther – is such an accomplishment.

This weekend I finally got over the hurdle I was struggling to cross. I pushed myself to the next level, and my hard work and determination are paying off. From here, the sky’s the limit!

Also, the bottom right photo is Reilly reading her Princess Sophia book to me. She amazes me everyday! I cannot believe she starts 1st grade in a few shorts weeks!!

Sending all my love & positive vibes to you all for a great week! Feel free to share your weekend tidbits with me in the comments. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hooray Monday!

  1. Love the honesty! I battled with bulimia and it is amazing how you can always overcome something such as an eating disorder, but for me, it is always in the back of my mind, keeping me stronger and reminding me I don’t need to live like that again. I just found you through MIMM but look forward to following your journey!

    • Thank you, Chris! I think the ED never fully goes away. You just become stronger in your fight against it, and eventually the voice gets quieter and quieter. Mine still roars every once in a while but I know it isn’t a road I am willing to travel again. I remember how awful it was instead of glamorizing it as I used to. It helps to keep me in check. Thanks so much for reading!!

Leave a Reply

